2016 AALD Symposium



           SPF_logo.jpg USJC_Logo_2C_horizontal.jpg



"Diversity in Leadership: The Journey of Asian American State Legislators"

A Panel Discussion with U.S. State Legislators

Thursday, December 8, 2016 (16:00 to 17:30)


The Sasakawa Peace Foundation and the U.S.-Japan Council are pleased to host a panel discussion with six distinguished Asian American state legislators from diverse backgrounds attending the 2016 Asian American Leadership Delegation (AALD) program - funded by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation and implemented by the U.S.-Japan Council, with support from the National Asian Pacific American Caucus of State Legislators.

The AALD program gives elected state-level Asian American officials the opportunity to visit Japan for one week to meet and exchange ideas with Japanese political, government, business and community leaders at both the national and local levels and aims to enhance mutual understanding and network building between Japan and the United States.

During the panel discussion, delegates will talk about their respective political and personal journeys in the United States, providing the audience with a unique and valuable opportunity to learn about the important role Asian American politicians are playing in their political arenas.  They will also reflect on their week-long experience in Japan.


Date & Time: Thursday, December 8, 2016, 16:00-17:30 (Registration begins at 15:30)

Venue: Sasakawa Peace Foundation, 11th Floor, International Conference Room

            1-15-16 Toranomon, Minato-ku, Tokyo 105-8524

            Access:  https://www.spf.org/e/profile/access.html

           *Please kindly note that we do not offer parking onsite. 



  • William C. Espero, State Senator, Hawaii State Legislature
  • Mia Su-Ling Gregerson, State Representative, Washington State Legislature
  • Mark Keam, Delegate, Virginia General Assembly
  • Aruna Miller, Delegate, Maryland General Assembly
  • Prasad Srinivasan, State Representative, Connecticut General Assembly
  • Gene Wu, State Representative, Texas Legislature

Click here to see panelist bios. 



Irene Hirano Inouye
President, U.S.-Japan Council


Language: Simultaneous interpretation in Japanese will be provided.

Registration: Admission is free. Registration is required by Wednesday, December 7, 2016.

Contact: Japan-U.S. Exchange Program Team/Ms. Igarashi and Ms. Munakata
              (Tel: 03-5157-5141 Email: japan-us@spf.or.jp)

Should you wish to participate, please fill out the application form on the Sasakawa Peace Foundation website at (https://www.spf.org/e/event/article_21933.html).

* Seating is limited and will be allocated on a first come, first served basis.


The Asian American Leadership Delegation is funded by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation and implemented by the U.S.-Japan Council, in collaboration with the National Asian Pacific American Caucus of State Legislators and the National Conference of State Legislatures