Friends of The Council

The U.S.-Japan Council recognizes Friends of the Council as those allies who support the Council's work and vision but who, for various reasons, are unable to become actively engaged in USJC activities.

Are you a member who needs to update your contact information? Please do so here.


Click on the icons next to a Member's name to view their social media accounts (where available)

Mr. Yusuke Asakura (No Ca)   
Visiting Scholar, Stanford University

Mr. Stephen Bloom (OR) 
CEO, Portland Japanese Garden

Mr. Tab Bowers (HI) 
Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Professor Richard Dasher (No CA) 
Director, US Asia Technology Management Center, Stanford University 

Rep. Mia Gregerson (WA) 
State Representative, Washington State Legislature 

Sen. Hoon-Yung Hopgood (MI) 
State Senator, Michigan State Legislature 

Dr. Heita Kawakatsu (Japan)
Governor, Shizuoka Prefecture

Mr. Peter Kelley (DC) 
President, National Association of Japan-America Societies 

Min. Taro Kono (Japan) 
Minister for Foreign Affairs, Government of Japan  

Mr. Michael Lerch (Japan)
Founder & CIO, Evolution Financial Group

Ms. Sylvia Luke (HI)
Representative, Hawaii State Legislature, House of Representatives

Ms. Kumiko Makihara (NY) 
Adjunct Associate Research Scholar, Columbia University 

Mr. Raj Mukherji, Esq. (NJ) 
State Assemblyman, NJ Legislature 

Ms. Kesha Ram (VT)  
State Representative, Vermont Legislature

Mr. Andrew Saidel (DC) 
President & CEO, Dynamic Strategies Asia, LLC 

Ms. Sharon Tomiko Santos (WA)
State Representative, Washington State House of Representatives 

Ms. Catherine Stevens (DC)
Partner, Mayer Brown LLP

Dr. Okiyoshi Takeda (Japan) 
Professor, Aoyama Gakuin University

Rep. Gene Wu (TX)
State Representative, Texas Legislature 

Dr. Ervin Yen (OK)  
State Senator, Oklahoma State Legislature 

Gov. Hidehiko Yuzaki (Japan)
Governor, Hiroshima Prefecture