2015 AALD Symposium Registration

2015 Asian American Leadership Delegation Symposium
Diversity in Leadership: The Journey of Asian American State Legislators
A Panel Discussion with U.S. State Legislators
Monday, September 28, 2015

The U.S.-Japan Council believes it is important to continue to diversify the composition of American leaders that are knowledgeable and connected to the U.S.-Japan relationship. Today, there is a growing number of Asian American elected officials who are influential representatives of their state districts and also active in their respective communities.

As part of the Asian American Leadership Delegation program—funded by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation and implemented by the U.S.-Japan Council—the participants, who were in Japan then, were invited to Ritsumeikan University to speak at a panel discussion. The six Asian American state legislators from diverse backgrounds discussed their varied political journeys from the perspective of leadership diversification. The panel also provided the audience an opportunity to learn about the experience of Asian American politicians.

We thank Ritsumeikan University for co-hosting the symposium, and the U.S.-Japan Research Institute for their support!

Date and Time: Monday, September 28, 2015 16:00~17:30 (Registration begins at 15:30)

Venue: Ritsumeikan University Kinugasa Campus, Conference Room, Soshikan Hall (56-1 Toji-in Kitamachi, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8577 Japan)


  • Hoon-Yung Hopgood, State Senator, Michigan State Legislature
  • Scott Kawasaki, State Representative, Alaska State Legislature
  • Mark Nakashima, State Representative, Hawaii State Legislature
  • Kesha Ram, State Representative, Vermont General Assembly
  • Kriselda Valderrama, State Delegate, Maryland General Assembly 
  • Ervin Yen, State Senator, Oklahoma State Legislature

Moderator: Irene Hirano Inouye, President, U.S.-Japan Council

Opening Remarks: ToyoOmi Nagata, Chairperson of The Ritsumeikan Trust

Closing Remarks: Keiji Nakatsuji, Dean, Graduate School of International Relations

MC: Naoki Ishihara, Professor, College of International Relations

The Asian American Leadership Delegation is funded by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation and implemented by the U.S.-Japan Council, in collaboration with the National Asian Pacific American Caucus of State Legislators and the National Conference of State Legislatures