TOMODACHI Critical Conversations Part 3: Voices Within ~ How is BLM Reshaping the Conversation on Discrimination? (Virtual Event)






TOMODACHI Critical Conversations ~ Inspired by the Black Lives Matter Movement ~
Part 3: Voices Within ー How is BLM Reshaping the Conversation on Discrimination?

Dates: December 11 – 12 (U.S.) // December 12 – 13 (Japan)
Language: English with Japanese Translation
Registration: Click here
Please register by November 20. This virtual event is limited to 50 participants.

For Part 3, we will continue to address the issue of race as inspired by the Black Lives Matter Movement, but through the lens of the impact it has had and will continue to have on discrimination in Japan. We have invited a special speaker to share their experiences on discrimination in Japan and the hopes on how this BLM movement can and is changing views throughout Japan. We invite participants to think of the BLM movement not as an isolated incident that is happening halfway across the world, but as an opportunity to explore, share, learn, and discuss these important concepts that are taking place in our communities.

This session will be part of a larger USJC Signature Series and will be held across two days to give more time for learning and discussions. (Click to learn more about the USJC Signature Series.)

DAY ONE Agenda:

Date: December 11, 2020 (U.S.) / December 12, 2020 (Japan)
Time: 6:30PM-8:30PM (EST) // 8:30AM-10:30AM (JST)

Doors Open at 6:20PM (EST) // 8:20am(JST)
– Welcome
– Fireside Chat with special guest speaker on diversity and identity in Japan
– Various Speakers and Panels focused on leadership in times of crisis
– Closing Remarks

DAY TWO Agenda:

Date: December 12, 2020 (U.S.) / December 13, 2020 (Japan)
Time: 6:30PM-8:30PM (EST) // 8:30AM-10:30AM (JST)

Doors Open at 6:20PM (EST) // 8:20am(JST)
– Welcome
– Small Discussion Groups
– Sharing in Big Group
– Closing Remarks

If you have any questions, please email us at [email protected].